Menu

Who are we?

The International Literary and Artistic Association (ALAI) is an independent learned society dedicated to studying and discussing legal issues arising in connection with the protection of the interests of creative individuals. Copyright and performing artists' rights are today an integral part of fundamental human rights as enshrined in several international conventions, declarations and charters. 

Founded in 1878 by the great French writer Victor Hugo to promote the international recognition of the legal protection of authors for their intellectual work, the Association fulfils its purpose by fostering the wider international dissemination of works so as to enrich the heritage of humanity. This objective was initially achieved at the end of the 19th century with the adoption of the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works. ALAI, since then, continues to play a key role in the preparation of international legal instruments related to copyright and performers' rights, specifically by organizing congresses and study days dedicated to the in-depth analysis of every aspect of copyright.

ALAI promotes creativity by endeavouring to assure the protection of the moral and economic rights of creators in general, a goal that article 27(2) of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights also affirms. ALAI does not represent or promote any individual author in particular, nor does it assist businesses or industrial groups.  ALAI is a broad-based, independent organization, receptive to the views held by its numerous national groups and individual members from every corner of the globe. Its members have a wide range of backgrounds and activities, from academic scholars and practising lawyers specializing in the field of copyright to professionals in the media sector and national and international officials.

Membership in ALAI or its national groups is open to anyone who wishes to take part in the great debate on the role of authors’ and performers’ rights in a constantly-evolving world, with a view to seeking balanced solutions in order to promote creativity and the protection of creators.

Menu

Qui sommes-nous ?

L’Association Littéraire et Artistique Internationale (ALAI) est une société savante et indépendante qui se destine à l’étude et à la discussion des problèmes juridiques découlant de la protection des intérêts de l’individu créateur. Le droit des auteurs et des artistes participe aujourd’hui à la protection des droits fondamentaux de l’homme tels qu’ils sont reconnus par plusieurs instruments internationaux. 

C’est un grand écrivain français, Victor Hugo, qui, en 1878, fonda cette association destinée à promouvoir la reconnaissance au niveau international de la protection juridique due au travail intellectuel des auteurs, l’idée étant de favoriser une meilleure diffusion internationale des œuvres et d’enrichir ainsi le patrimoine de l’humanité. C’est à la fin du 19ème siècle que cet objectif a été initialement atteint lors de l’adoption de la Convention de Berne pour la protection des œuvres littéraires et artistiques. L’ALAI a continué de jouer un rôle clef dans la préparation des instruments internationaux destinés à la protection des droits des auteurs et des artistes, notamment grâce à l’organisation de congrès et de journées d’études consacrés à l’analyse approfondie de tous les aspects du droit d’auteur.

L’ALAI œuvre en faveur de la création en veillant à la protection des droits économiques et du droit moral des créateurs en général, comme cela est aussi affirmé dans l’article 27(2) de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme. Elle ne travaille pas pour le compte ni n’assure la promotion d'auteurs en particulier, d'entreprises ou de groupes industriels. C’est naturellement une large organisation qui est à l’écoute des prises de position que lui rapportent ses nombreux groupes nationaux issus de tous les points du globe. Elle regroupe en son sein une multitude de membres à la formation et aux activités les plus diverses qui vont des milieux académiques aux juristes spécialistes en droit d’auteur, en passant par les professionnels du secteur des médias et les fonctionnaires nationaux et internationaux.

L’ALAI et ses groupes nationaux accueillent en leur sein toute personne désireuse de participer au grand débat sur la place du droit d’auteur et des artistes dans un monde en perpétuel mouvement, dans la perspective d’une recherche de solutions équilibrées afin de promouvoir la créativité et la protection des créateurs.